11/06/2026
A Nerd Fun Fact:
Did you know that when you take a screenshot of an image, it creates a completely new file?
That means most of the original metadata, such as camera information, editing history, location data, and even some AI-generation tags, usually doesn't carry over to the screenshot.
A screenshot of a screenshot strips away even more of the original file information. By the time an image has been uploaded, compressed, screenshotted, and re-uploaded multiple times, it can be very different from the original file behind the scenes, even if it still looks almost identical to your eyes.
The image may look the same, but the data hidden inside it can tell a completely different story.